The 2017 Golden Globes Demonstrated African American Hollywood Actors Gaining Ground

By Danny R. Johnson Entertainment News Editor LOS ANGELES – The way the night was heading at the 2017 Golden Globes Awards show, it looked like a major record might be broken. But despite three big wins for African American actors, the record remains unbroken. The 2017 Golden Globes gave awards to three African American […]

23rd Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards Nominations Out

LOS ANGELES–Nominees for the 23rd Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards for outstanding individual, cast and ensemble performances in film and television of 2016, as well as the nominees for outstanding action performances by film and television stunt ensembles were announced at the Pacific Design Center’s SilverScreen Theater in West Hollywood. SAG-AFTRA President Gabrielle Carteris introduced […]

Ten Live Action Shorts Advance In Oscar Race

LOS ANGELES–Ten live action short films will advance in the voting process for the 89th Academy Awards, according to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. One hundred thirty-seven pictures had originally qualified in the category. The 10 films are listed below with their production companies: “Bon Voyage,” Marc Wilkins, director, and Joël Jent, […]

The Late Late Show Host James Corden To Host Grammy Awards

SANTA MONICA–James Corden, the Emmy and Tony Award-winning multi-faceted host of CBS’ “The Late Late Show With James Corden,” will host the  59th annual Grammy Awards, marking his first year as master of ceremonies for music’s biggest night. “Thanks to ‘Carpool Karaoke,’ we’ve all been on some incredible rides with James, and The Recording Academy […]

Emmy-Nominated “Whose Live Anyway?” Comes To Art Center

ESCONDIDO–The cast from the Emmy-nominated TV show, ‘Whose Line Is It Anyway,’ returns to the California Center for the Arts, Escondido November 12 for a night of unforgettable improv comedy and song. ‘Whose Live Anyway?’ is a unique opportunity for comedy fans to experience the 90 minutes show in a live format in the Concert […]

Lily Tomlin To Receive The SAG Life Achievement Award Next Year

LOS ANGELES–Lily Tomlin– an entertainment maverick whose talents put her at the pinnacle of comedy, acting, writing and producing – has been named the 53rd recipient of SAG-AFTRA’s highest tribute: the SAG Life Achievement Award for career achievement and humanitarian accomplishment. Tomlin will be presented the performers union’s most prestigious distinction at the 23rd annual […]

PBS Announces New Programming This Summer

BEVERLY HILLS–(Businesswire)–At the Television Critics Association Press Tour, PBS announced new programs and initiatives launching in 2016 and beyond. The PBS Arts Fall Festival returns Friday nights, beginning October 21 with all new programs, including the highly anticipated look into the making of the Broadway phenomenon Hamilton, a contemporary take on the life of founding […]

truTV Renews Impractical Jokers For Sixth Season

LOS ANGELES–truTV has renewed its top-rated series Impractical Jokers for a sixth season, which will guarantee more hidden-camera hijinks from Sal, Joe, Murr and Q on the network through 2017. The announcement was made by the four stars and lifelong friends – collectively known as The Tenderloins – Thursday night at the Hall of Impractical […]

Taking A 360 Degree Look At The VR/AR Industry At Comic-Con

SAN DIEGO–Friday morning, some of the leading filmmakers, executives, and professionals in virtual and augmented reality storytelling discussed emerging opportunities for women and other minority voices in this innovative medium. The San Diego Comic-Con panelists also touched on the “state of VR” as an industry, including trends and different approaches to content in VR. With […]

Adult Swim Brings Epic Fan Experience To Comic Con

SAN DIEGO–Adult Swim returns to San Diego Comic Con with exciting activities and panels inside and outside the San Diego Convention Center this week. Fans can always expect the unexpected from Adult Swim, as they dive into celebrity-filled panels and signings featuring series stars, creators and producers from Robot Chicken and Rick and Morty, a […]